Town Council
Email This Page


What We Do

The Town Council is New Canaan's legislative body. Twelve members are elected, six members in every odd-numbered year to serve four-year, staggered terms. The primary responsibilities of the Council encompass bylaws,ordinances and approval of appropriations.

Proposed legislative action must be published in two successive issues of the local newspaper. At least seven Council members must vote on legislative matters. The First Selectman may vote in the event of a tie. After passage, new ordinances must be filed with the Town Clerk and published at least once. The collective body of laws governing New Canaan are called the Town Code.

The Town Council also has the authority to approve, disapprove, or reduce appropriations recommended by the Board of Finance, including, but not limited to, the annual Town Budget. The Council also selects the Town's auditors. The Town Council must also approve any improvement on any real property owned by the Town.

Rules of the Town Council


John Engel - Chairman 
Sven Englund -  Vice Chairman
Stephen Karl
Christa Kenin
Jim Kucharczyk
Joe Paladino
Cristina A. Ross
Penny Young
Tom Butterworth
Liz Donovan
Richard Townsend -  Vice Chairman
Michael Mauro


The Town Council meets on the third Wednesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in Town Hall. Meetings are open to the public. Please check the calendar on the home page for the current meeting agenda. To request that an item be placed on the agenda, or for information about actions taken by the Town Council, you may contact any Town Council member by selecting their names in the section above. You may also find Schedule of Meetings, Agendas & Minutes buy clicking the link below.  

Schedule of Meetings, Agendas & Minutes

If meeting minutes or agendas do not appear on this Web site, please contact the relevant Board, Commission or Committee. Do not contact the webmaster of this site.

You may contact all Council members by sending an e-mail to:  

To email individual members of the Town Council please click on their names above.  

Committee Assignments

Click here to download the Committee Assignments